Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Roll'in....

So the weather has been phenominal and so we've spent a bunch of time outside.  I love the spring and summer, as it gives me an excuse to completely ignore the house (God help the laundry room...crap.) and hang outside and crack open a beer at 2pm. and stay hydrated.  The best of news is that I got my IV PICC line out today!  Hooray!  I'll be on a year of Cipro (oral antibiotics) so all in all, a good day.

We were thinkig of camping this weekend, but with snow in the forecast for the mountains, I'm thinking we'll try a movie or something dry....like a martini.  Just not much in the mood for 3 kids and husband in a 28 foot fifth wheel.  No thanks says my sanity.

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Something New...

Instead of a depressing, self absorbent post, I thought I would try and give a positive perspective to what I've been doing.  First of all, I've been walking 2-3 miles per day and even broke out into a trot!  I personally found out what the meaning of "disentegrating degenerative disc" really is.  Ouch.  And I mean Ou-the-fucking-ch.  I guess those cute little ovals full of spongy cartiledge and nourishing blood do have a very important health function to our bodys.  I wish I had my other two back.  Dammit.  So the most I'll be doing is walking until I shit is fused and salmonella is back in weird eggs and yellow finned tuna or where ever the hell I got it from. 

I also have been doing some research on natural anti-inflammatory's...aka....AID.  The anti-inflammatory diet.  My research started with the guys I work with that are 60+ and have arthritis, osteoporous, bosteoporous....oldomanoporous....  haha.  But yeah....when you are the one eating with the guys who can predict thunderstorms that are 3 days away by navigating their knee towards the north pole (or however the hell they do it) you know your desperate. 

This is what these guys eat to keep their bodies from swelling up and consuming 389 ibruprofren a day.  Did you notice the wine at the top?  :-)  THANK YOU DR. WIELS! 

So this has helped the inflammation in my back a ton.  I feel so much better now that I have been eating these primary foods.  I love it!  Except I found dark cocoa almonds today.  Hello Crack. 

Friday, May 4, 2012

Attitude...

That's what everyone keeps telling me.  It's all about attitude and how you deal with disappointments in life.  And I'm not talking about shit like, "I'm sooo disappointed that Kim Kardashian wore that hideous yellow top and not the cute silver one!".  (I like those K girls though...they're bringing the big booty back and those of us who have big backsides appreciate it.  Suck it you anorexic bitches.)

Yes, my back is still inflamed and still infected and I still have the real possibility of more surgery.  Super!  At least now I know what food to order from the cafeteria and I can get my St. Vincent's frequent patient card punched again!  Just a few more to go and I get free robe!  The other great news is that I get to have my IV PICC line and antibiotics in for six months.  Holy Shit....I could almost give birth to the whole damn contraption.  But for the sake of "attitude" here are some positives about 100ml of Ciprofloaxin twice a day for the next six fucking months:

- No more UTI's (urinary tract infection) for me!  Bring on the sex baby...I'm as pure as the driven snow!

- Whooping cough is becoming rampant in Montana but guess who's not going to get that nasty bacteria?  THIS GIRL!

- Al Quaida wants to shower us with Anthrax?  Bring it on bitches....You'll have to use some pretty nasty bio warfare to kick this girl to the curb.

- I have a direct line to the 'ol pumper if I want to shoot up and get high!  I don't have to worry about trying to find new veins in between my toes.

So there you have it.  You may think I'm being cynical or crass, but for just a short time, you can take this "good" attitude and shove it up your ass.  I'll be diving into high fat foods and liquor tonight to "celebrate".

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Say What?

Wow...blogger has a new format.  All of you "non-bloggers" (those of you who prefer to keep your most inter secrets and family life private...weirdo's) won't see it, but behind the scenes there have been some cool changes.  I need to redo my page.  Anyone know how to do that?  Or do I have to call a decorator?

I still have this love/hate relationship with my beautiful IV PICC line.  I love that it is preventing my vertebrae from being completely eaten up because hey...I've already got two solid fusions in a row...I hate to be a pig about things and want the whole fucking thing to be a solid mass of bone.  I hate that I have a line running throughout my veins and close to my heart as it's not natural.  But, neither is my hair color and nails, so I suppose I can deal.

I am still a little stiff in the morning (that's what she said...) but when I get moving a bit I tend to be a little more flexible.  Think walking without a limp, not back bending my way down the stairs.  So shit seems to be coming together. 

I had an MRI on Monday and will find out if my back is salmonella free on Friday.  Since I'm considered a "normal" patient now I have to wait for my results like everyone one else.  MRI's make me think of a penis going into a dark scary place....if you've never had an MRI you have no idea, and now when you do have one you won't be able to get that out of your mind.