Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Trotting in a costume~

I have never pretended to be a seasoned runner, or even a "good" runner at that.  I like to run because it makes me feel good, keeps me in shape and is better for me than crack or cocaine (and slightly less expensive, so I've heard).  Why do you run (and if you don't, who do you excercise?) If you don't excercise at all, just want you to know I.AM.SO.JEALOUS.

However, reading about the Turkey Run this Thursday, kind of took me off guard.  I think of "runners" as primed athletes, dressed in really expensive under armor gear, with the sound of "Eye of the Tiger" miraculously following them around as they stretch and do those high knee kick thingys.  In my perspective, very intimidating folks to be around and even trying to join their elite-ness would be terrifying and dangerous, and I would have to drink chicken blood and learn some super cool hand shake.  And then I would be constantly worried that I am not fast enough, not good enough, and what if they thought I was weird or something?  :-/

Hmmm...I guess they are more like me and less like Dolph Lundgren in Rocky IV than I thought (don't you remember how serious and mean he looked?  And that ice cold blond bitch by his side.  Man, I would have dumped her ass the first time she tried to "encourage" me while sitting in a chair eating donuts...)
Because if you read the fine print, you get to wear a costume!   Eat your heart out Dolph!  It's like Halloween for grown ups and it's legal~ Plus...they are giving out pints of BEER after the run.  I can do that~  Instead of sneaking around drinking a beer after my morning run, hiding it from my husband and the neighbors, I get to bask in sweet micro brew glory, while swooshing my way around in my Super Woman running cape~!   I shoulda been doing this whole running thing a long time ago!!

Who is going to be at the Good Earth Market on Thursday morning??  What kind of costume should I wear?  If I sign up twice, do you think I will get two beer tokens?
http://www.runturkeyrun.org/

1 comment:

  1. I know that my grammar/spelling sucks. Any volunteers for an editing job? I will pay in beer and super hero capes.

    ReplyDelete