Thursday, December 15, 2011

Holiday Hookers

I'm telling you right now, that some people absolutely amaze me.  And today, it wasn't in a going-to-get-this-future-nobel peace prize-recipient's signature kind of way.  It was more on the lines of, "maybe Darwin really did have it right" kind of way.  My friend actually said, "God, Bobbi, quit looking at her like that."  It was the "That round thing that sits 3 feet above your ass is your head. Inside of that is your brain.  When you use it, extraordinary things can happen.  Like speech.  And thought." look.  I save it for very special occassions of incredible stupidity.

NOT, that I'm a big proponent of geniuses, or that everyone needs to be one.  Because let's face it, most geniuses are not fun.  However, am I thankful for my car, the light bulb, and a good Cabernet?  You bet your ass I am.  It's just the really dumb people you run into during this event called life that make me wonder if man kind is going to make it into the next decade, let alone the next century.  How many 20 year olds do you know that can navigate using a compass and a map?  Acutally do math (add, subtract, multipy, divide) in their head?  Use a telephone device to actually CALL someone to talk?  I know that there are some, but in the scheme of life and survival, if things go to hell in a hand basket, your "mad" texting skilz won't keep you warm or snag something for dinner.

Stupidity is a lack of intelligence, understanding, reason, wit, or sense. (duhhh)

Anyhoo, I am not going to call out my friends name, because not everyone likes to have their private lives spilled onto someone else's blog to be picked apart, made fun of, and used to steal their identity their lives "public".  No sweat.  R~ I did not post your picture nor did I mention your name!  Score...Me!  (the pic was soooo good though!)

Onward and upwards:  My goal was to get in another 15 miles this week.  I was able to get in 2 miles on Monday, 2.5 Wednesday, and 2.5 today.  That means, a cool 8 miles tomorrow and I'll have this week wrapped up like pig in a blanket (which is what I look like after the 3,521 plates of cookies we got at work.  Doesn't anyone want to send some Holiday Dexatrim or Phen Phen??)  I'll let you all know how that goes.  (I am sure, down the shitter).  But you never know.  Your 18 year old just might make that "real" phone call to you, any day now. 

And last but not least.  From an inspirational blog:

Stop being scared to make a mistake. – Doing something and getting it wrong is at least ten times more productive than doing nothing.  Every success has a trail of failures behind it, and every failure is leading towards success.  You end up regretting the things you did NOT do far more than the things you did.

That sounds so much simpler in writing than it is to LIVE THIS WAY.  But I am making a commitment to do just this.  Unless the mistake is not making it to the toilet.  And shitting your pants.  Pretty sure "nothing" is better than that mistake.

No comments:

Post a Comment