Friday, December 23, 2011

Throwing stones.... and White Winterland

Hello my wonderful Blog Friends!  Yes, I have no excuse to be ignoring all of you except the fact that I've been drinking, stuffing my face, and shopping for myself this entire week hanging with friends and family and going to Christmas recitals.  Fun Stuff!  Annika:
 The girls were fabulous!  They had school on Wednesday, Cole had his Christmas party that same day and Pete and I found ourselves with a FREE day, just the two of us!  What to do?  Stay in bed, have wild sex, eat popcorn and drink soda while watching inappropriate television shows? (this is exactly what Pete proposed minus the popcorn, soda and TV, BTW)  So with a click of a button, we found out that Red Lodge was going to get about 8 inches of snow.  They didn't....they got about 23!!  It was a bit cold, but the skiing was just like floating on a cloud...no shit.  You sit back and enjoy the best ride in the world on snow...

Then we stopped in Joliet and had a red beer and a late lunch at the 212 Bar and Grill.  FABULOUS!  Seriously, if you and your family are looking for some great food, super service, friendly atmosphere, all at a reasonable price this place is a must!  Right at the edge of Joliet. 

I was also at the ER again today, but more to come on that.  I promise I am not a deductible abuser, truly.  But I'll preface this and say I was in the most pain ever today.  EVER!

Who is having Christmas at their house?  Who is hoping their hubby just hasn't wrapped your presents yet and your kids are lying when they say that dad hasn't taken them shopping yet?

Monday, December 19, 2011

Too old for diapers, too young for depends....

I want to start with the caveat, I love my kids regardless of the physical and mental (my family and I want to sincerely thank the creators of Zoloft) havoc that they wreaked upon me.  However, besides the extra 10 or uh, 20, few pounds I have left over, there have been "other" not so fun effects. *gross bodily function warning coming up*  After I drank 3 pounds of Tom and Jerry batter with a gallon of liquor Saturday night, it was time to hit the pavement for 3 miler before the snow came.  I had some company:


It wasn't a solid 3 miles, we had a lot of start and stops, but I'll take that kind of run any day.  What I DON'T want is this cold.  You've heard of "incontinence", right?  I don't neccessarily think I've crossed that line (yet), but let's face it...I've had three kids.  Out of my vagina.  And it's not made out of elastic.  So at about 2.5 miles, I felt a slight, but substantial sneeze coming on.  I should have stopped.  I know that now.  Or I should have done 1,243 kegels a day like my OB Doc told me to do.  I obviously thought that with age and weight gain, my vagina muscles magically got stronger.  So yeah, this wasn't just a little dribble.  I peed my pants.  Dammit.  And I was .5 mile from my house.  With two of my kids.  And the dog.  Shit f*ck.  (This is an actual term when things are really bad.) 

It wasn't pleasant, but we made it home and into the wash.  Both me and my underwear.  YOU might have thrown them away, but if I threw away all of the underwear that me and my kids peed in, well, Fruit of the Loom stock would be well into the thousands of dollars per share.  All in all, the run was good, I was able to "naturally" keep my upper thighs warm and my kids were none the wiser.  (I want grandkids some day, so there is no way I'm telling Makenna that the chances of her peeing her pants in her mid thirties are MUCH greater than when you are 3.) 

More Christmas concerts today and tomorrow and some shopping...and a hot toddy or two (or six or ten). 

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Holiday Hookers

I'm telling you right now, that some people absolutely amaze me.  And today, it wasn't in a going-to-get-this-future-nobel peace prize-recipient's signature kind of way.  It was more on the lines of, "maybe Darwin really did have it right" kind of way.  My friend actually said, "God, Bobbi, quit looking at her like that."  It was the "That round thing that sits 3 feet above your ass is your head. Inside of that is your brain.  When you use it, extraordinary things can happen.  Like speech.  And thought." look.  I save it for very special occassions of incredible stupidity.

NOT, that I'm a big proponent of geniuses, or that everyone needs to be one.  Because let's face it, most geniuses are not fun.  However, am I thankful for my car, the light bulb, and a good Cabernet?  You bet your ass I am.  It's just the really dumb people you run into during this event called life that make me wonder if man kind is going to make it into the next decade, let alone the next century.  How many 20 year olds do you know that can navigate using a compass and a map?  Acutally do math (add, subtract, multipy, divide) in their head?  Use a telephone device to actually CALL someone to talk?  I know that there are some, but in the scheme of life and survival, if things go to hell in a hand basket, your "mad" texting skilz won't keep you warm or snag something for dinner.

Stupidity is a lack of intelligence, understanding, reason, wit, or sense. (duhhh)

Anyhoo, I am not going to call out my friends name, because not everyone likes to have their private lives spilled onto someone else's blog to be picked apart, made fun of, and used to steal their identity their lives "public".  No sweat.  R~ I did not post your picture nor did I mention your name!  Score...Me!  (the pic was soooo good though!)

Onward and upwards:  My goal was to get in another 15 miles this week.  I was able to get in 2 miles on Monday, 2.5 Wednesday, and 2.5 today.  That means, a cool 8 miles tomorrow and I'll have this week wrapped up like pig in a blanket (which is what I look like after the 3,521 plates of cookies we got at work.  Doesn't anyone want to send some Holiday Dexatrim or Phen Phen??)  I'll let you all know how that goes.  (I am sure, down the shitter).  But you never know.  Your 18 year old just might make that "real" phone call to you, any day now. 

And last but not least.  From an inspirational blog:

Stop being scared to make a mistake. – Doing something and getting it wrong is at least ten times more productive than doing nothing.  Every success has a trail of failures behind it, and every failure is leading towards success.  You end up regretting the things you did NOT do far more than the things you did.

That sounds so much simpler in writing than it is to LIVE THIS WAY.  But I am making a commitment to do just this.  Unless the mistake is not making it to the toilet.  And shitting your pants.  Pretty sure "nothing" is better than that mistake.

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Self Doubt in a Fast World

Sometimes it's hard to face your weakness head on (after ignoring it for years and faking what you think others expect of you), let alone share it with the world (Damn you Blogspot~ Damn you to hell!), but once you allow doubt to couple with a weakness, well, you have to take some self inventory and be God Damned honest with yourself.  (my mom is going to make me wash my mouth out with soap when she reads this...shit.  hell.  penis.  I'm getting Dawn in my stocking for sure)

                                                      

Doesn't everyone want to be "Kick Ass"?  Like, wow, she doesn't care that she shows up to a meeting smelling like coal dust and having her hair in the perfect formation of a hard hat.  She must be "Kick Ass".  Trying to run a half marathon and then a full at her weight and physical level?  She must be "Kick'in Stupid".  She has a full time job, 3 kids, a fabulous husband, her own business, and can still fit in some blogging time, she must be "Kick Ass".  (however, "Kick'in Stupid" has fit into this situation, many times....too many times.)

So why do we think we have to be bullet proof to be "successful"?  And why is the meaning of successful a dynamic term within our lives and our peer groups? 

I have so much doubt on my success as a wife, mother, employee, entrepenuer....friend, sister, volunteer....some times.  Most of the time I think I am on top of my game and not looking back.

How do you deal with self doubt? 

Why do women, in paticular, think they have to be at 1000% at everything they do?

What kind of soap do you wash your kid's mouths out with?

Monday, December 12, 2011

Is it Age or Attitude?

I had to laugh out loud, because one of my good friends posted her story on FB about dropping off her kids in her PJ's and chatt'in up some other mom, like nothin's going on.  IT.WAS.HILARIOUS.  Thanks for the good laugh babe!

I mean, I JUST did this last week.  At least a version of it.   I'm not as classy/put together as my friend is, so I have NO DOUBT she pulled off her look without a blink of an eye.  I, however, did not.  Not in the least.  I wouldn't have been caught DEAD without 14 pounds of makeup in college (sans Freshman year....since I can't even remember that year, it doesn't count), my Calvin Clein jeans, and my Vanilla Fields perfume.  So is it age, or do I not give a shit anymore?  I don't know, but since she was brave enough to share, here's goes BIBS.

Had the day off, and knew I had nothing going on except watching 8 hours of Lifetime movies and eating Christmas cookies, after my nap some house work and a grocery store trip.  I might even change my underwear if I'm feeling sassy.  A real shower was NOT on the agenda....that day or the next (or the next).  My hygiene takes a backseat on the weekends.  So if you show up to my house unannounced, be ready for some pony tails and hairy arm pits.  (no, I don't use hair ties for my arm pits until the long Christmas break. Sheesh.) 

So when I get a phone call from the school, I was a bit surprised.  Annika forgot her Thursday folder and needed me to bring it in.  I threw the Cole-ster in the car, grabbed a sweater, and slid on my flip flops.  At the last minute, I decide to put my sun glasses on so that no one would notice the old mascara and drooping eye liner I left on from the night before.  (Cole loves me for who I am.  Thank God.  Even though I am sure he'll be writing about this in his journal for his psychiatrist some day.)  Brilliant!! My mind kept wandering back to Eric and Marcy and if they will ever find their baby that disappeared from the hospital that fateful afternoon the washer and if I rotated the laundry yet.

So I practically drive up onto the sidewalk and run inside the door to the grade school office.  I was number 4,319 in line.  F*ck.  Is it national "visit the school secretary and chat her ass off" day?  Did I miss the memo?  Is it in Annika's folder that she forgot at home?  So I am waiting with a very antsy and curious 2 year old at my side.  I notice that everyone else in line has on snow boots, tennis shoes, or weather-appropriate professional foot gear.  I try to curl up my toes, therefore making my sockless, shoeless apparel look much less noticeable.  Guessing at all of the pointing and stares, I am failing miserable at this.  Either that, or they feel sorry for the little boy at my side, still in his monkey PJ's with his snow boots on.  (I was *this* close to letting him go without any of that, but was not willing to admit that to the crowd that now thinks I am drunk or stoned for leaving the house in this condition)

FINALLY, it's my turn.  I kind of blurb out something about Annika, folder....blah blah blah.  All of the sudden, here comes the 1st grade class, around the corner from gym, and I practically shove the folder in Annika's face and try to turn tail.  Of course she wants to "show me off" to her class mates (first graders are so much less judgmental than adults.  One little girl actually wished her mom would let her where flip flops in the snow too. Uh, yeah...Annika's mom is sooo cool. ::blush::  )  I am now, 40 shades of hot from embarrassment, so I take off my sweatshirt and make small talk with the teacher and secretary.  Not sure how long we talked, but you know the feeling when someone just isn't really "listening" to you?  Both their eyes were kind of shifting to the corner of the room, the floor (maybe they are noticing my non-existent pedicure and are vowing to go naked toed through out the winter also?) to the kids...so I get the hint, politely wish them a Merry Christmas and get back to the car.  As I don on my sweatshirt, I notice that my saggy, yet pointy boobs, are not only very apparent through my bra less attire, but I also have a HUGE booger on the right side of my nose.  Shit.  I almost felt like beating my head against the steering wheel.  Oh My F*cking God.  I am sure there will be some good times in the teachers lounge today.  I keep checking the mail and the phone messages for Child Services, or at least someone offering to come in and help with my parenting/home life techniques.

What's your most embarrassing public moment? 

Do you really shower every day?  Am I THAT gross?

Sunday, December 11, 2011

And THIS is why we get married, right?  You wouldn't find my shit up there for NOTHIN! 

God he's sexy on a ladder though! 
Damn, it's been a few days since I've been here and that last post was really boring, dull, unfunny, and sucky a little off of the Bushman style.  Who would let a little heart problem get into the way? 

Had a SUPER Rodan + Fields event with corporate Thursday night.  God I love this company.  Have I ever mentioned that?  The people who are leading this company are knocking it out of the ball park and I WANT to be there.  Screw this $1500/month here and $1800/month there shit.  I want to be making $10,000 PER MONTH by the end of next year.  (Me and Tricia are going to rock this world and make some really ugly people have some super great skin!)  Love you girl!!

I have been contemplating what to get Pete for Christmas.  I don't know about you, but I STRUGGLE with his gifts every year.  Apparantly, an inversion board isn't high on the wish list.  THIS year I got him a gun safe.  (total score for me!  Great price at TSC!) What I didn't expect was for me to help. 

507 pounds.  Up the f*cking stairs.  Don't ask how we did it.  I'll just say that it involved some 2 X 4's, PVC pipe, two shots of vodka, and divorce papers.  And not particularly in that order.  But the bitch is in the room and loaded.  And the gun safe is in it's place also.  Give me a break, it's been a long day. 



Any guesses on how many pounds of hair, ribbon, tinsel and string I found in my vaccum?  God, that is so gross.  However, my house cleaner got a full time job, so now it's up to me to bitch and moan and kick shit in the corner until Pete just does it get a hold of the house hold chores once again.  Please don't look into the toilet before you pee.  I am only one woman.  With three bathrooms.  And a bad attitude. 

I was able to log 5 miles in this weekend! Minor breathing problems, but took it really slow.  My goal is to get another 15 in for the week.  I know I.CAN.DO.THIS.  Boulder half is the end of April.  I'm going to kick some major booty down there.  My super friend Amy lives in Denver and I want to win her approval and friendship so she doesn't think I'm weird make a showing and not be a big talker.

So once again, I ask myself the question from my mentor, Kris Vandersloot:  "Are You All In?" ......I'm getting there Kris, I'm getting there.   I have a half marathon to train for, some kids to yell at/raise, three bathrooms to clean (pfffft.....sure, Bob, sure) and a Rodan + Fields business to rock!   I.CAN.WILL.DO.THIS. 

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

At least I have good skin....

Uh Yeah...this is me, in the ER, wondering if those nurses are all taking turns putting their hands in the freezer, getting ready for the next patient.  I was *slightly* bored.


I was making jokes with anyone who would listen at the time, because, well, that's what I do in stressful situations...or awkward situations...or funny situations....or, well, yeah.  From the movie 'Waiting'  :  "I realized that your personality was just one short punctuated joke after another."  ::blush::

Eh...yeah, I laugh through life.  So when one of the nurses asked if I needed something, I said, "How about a new heart?"  and she said, "You may have a heart problem, but you really do have great skin." So she bought the Amp It Up Special! 

I may have a heart to contend with, but dammit, at least I have good skin!!!  You buy the Amp It Up Special from me this month, I will send you a free lip plumper!! 

https://bbushman.myrandf.com/    Amp It Up Special



  

          

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Hard On...the Heart.

I am sure all ten of you have been sitting on the edge of your seats wondering about my mysterious breathing/heart/just-plain-out-shape status.  Well wonder no more, my faithful readers!  After $9,000 worth of blood work and heart monitoring, we still have no answers.  I am not completely defending the health care world, but I think they are too the point that with all of the liability that they take on, they overreact and over diagnose while under dressing their patients.  Seriously...

My morning started out as usual....blue birds brought me my robe as I gently awoke my sleeping children from a fruitful night of slumber.   Don't be jealous. You know it's true.  As I was trying to put a clean diaper on Cole while brushing my teeth, Makenna informs me that she can't find her house key (I have no doubt this will be found in the pile of stolen goods located in Miss Annika's room...which holds our family's most valuable possesions from my diamond earrings to Cole's favorite McDonalds toy).  After Annika found two, sort-of matching shoes, Makenna brushed her hair (Yes honey, just because you can't see the back of your head, doesn't mean you don't have to brush back there) and I have now gone hoarse yelling this long, this early in the morning, kids are trudging out of the door, regardless of the lack of personal hygiene or matching attire.

I decide to forgo the coffee this morning, because this is just a quick appointment and I'll grab a cup when I get to work.  ::foreshadowing warning::  Here's a tip people....IF, for some unbelievably, mentally f*cked up reason, you WANT to land in the ER at any time, all you have to do is make a mention of "heart" coupled with "breathing" and/or "pain" and you'll find your ass smack dab in the land of backless robes and needle wielding nurses. 

So, as I am mentally preparing to act like I am totally OK with people pushing my boobs around to hear my heart and glue cord tassles to my chest (give it up for the girls in Vegas...cause those boobie tassle things not only have to stay on, but eventually come off.  I would be surprised if any of them even have nipples left.) I get handed the dreaded robe.  I am patting myself on the back because I shaved my legs this morning (maybe not well, but well enough that you can't braid them anymore) and I realize I am wearing a thong.  A THONG.  You don't see a lot of chicks (or dudes) walking around the ER sporting their polk-a-dotted thong under their backless robe.  I almost ripped up the sheets and made my own cave-man like skirt.  Damn. 

Now that I have scarred the memories of the X-ray techs and re-assured the rest of the ER that, yes, I am wearing panties, it's time for the 15 pints of blood to be taken into 300 little tiny tubes, each holding about 2 drops of blood each.  My nurse assures me that the test will only take a few hours to complete.  Meanwhile, I get to sit here and watch my IV drip into my arm, increasing my fluid intake so that I can walk down the long hallway and around the corner to the bathroom while pushing my monitor, 4000 tassle cords, IV and holding together my backless robe so my ass isn't hanging out, literally. 

I also found it interesting to listen to the nurses/techs/random folks make small talk at the nurses station...these people have a lot of time considering this is an ER, but since I was doing nothing but laying around picking my nose, no big deal.  None of them passed physics, obviously, because sound does travel through curtains, surprisingly clear as a bell. 

Nurse 1: "Can you believe Karen called in sick again?  Does she EVER work?"
Nurse 2: "Room 8 just asked me to turn her IV down...this is her second bag.  Wow, she must really like it here."
Nurse 3: "Did you see that Room 4 is wearing only a thong under her robe?"  ::blush::

Ok, not really, but some of the conversations were pretty good, or I was just really bored, or they slipped something funky in my drip.

So after all this trauma, a good 30 minute nap and a meaningful conversation with the admissions gal (who really doesn't get a lot of respect....) there are no hard conclusions, but it's pointing towards a heart beating problem.  The doc told me what it could possibly be, and it was something like this:  atrial-prexometionsh-dremaieamnon     Seriously.  I just stared at him and pretended HE was the one sitting in a robe without a back in a thong.  It made me feel a lot better.

I follow up with my doc later this week on the blood work, heart monitor, and underwear protocol.  I ran 2 miles today at the gym (God, I hate the treadmill more than a backless robe!) and felt fabulous.  Bring it on!

Have you ever had an ER visit that lasted forever? 

What about thongs...yes or no??

PS:   Do they teach you to completely drain all life giving and warm blood from your hands in Nursing School?   :-/

Sunday, December 4, 2011

Compromises...

First off, I have another cold coming on.  Sore throat and wheezing all last night.  Ugggh.  How the hell do all of you super athletes, or just those of you who run, (looking at you Robin and Ceci!!) on a regular basis make it through the snot, cough, and flu season with Kids?  Bath in Vodka every night?  Not touch your kids for 6 months?  Move to Tahiti??? 

Anyway, I ditched the run this morning and did some yoga instead.  Some Down Dog Split and Plank work made my Bailey's and Coffee taste extra good.  I am actually looking forward to my appointment in the morning to see what the hell is going on with my shitty ass lungs.  It's getting hard to fake breath in front my Pete so he'll let me run.  By the way, this does not have any bearing on me being able to do yard work, laundry, and well, sex.  ::eye roll:: men.  Thank goodness they can change oil and fix dryers.

I'll leave you with some Christmas pictures from the Bushman household~  Yes, I have two trees, and don't tell Pete, but I am scouting out my third.  I need to find a way to put it up, decorate it, and have him not notice until next year. Tips? 


My camera phone sucks ass.  I know.


I have really cute little ginger bread houses under that tree, coupled with Makenna's dirty sweater and some dog bones.



So how many trees do you put up every year?   Do you drink whiskey in your coffee?? On week days?  At work??

Saturday, December 3, 2011

A Long Saturday...that's not yet over.


This was me after my 2.2 mile mark.  And I truly didn't think I could feel any worse.  Wow.  I'll try to photo-shop some mascara and lipstick for you all next time.  I made it this far before I had to use my inhaler, thanks to my weird-lung-breathing-maybe-heart-related-thingy.  More on that Monday after my doctors's appointment. 

I actually felt really good and focused on my breathing the whole time.  After a quick couple of breaths from this little beauty: 


I was able to turn around and finish up for almost 4.5 miles.  Not quite the 5.0 I wanted, but I felt strong up until 4 miles, and I think cutting it a little short was the right thing to do. 

I also realized that I REALLY need to update my mp3 player song lists, and is it me, or does Carrie Underwood and Pink have some major man hating issues.  Holy shit.  Taking them on a date must be close to rubbing your open wound in salt and lime juice.  (I have a margarita craving all of the sudden...)

On another note, I whipped up some home made Bailey's Irish Cream.  YUM!  It is so freak'in good.  It's a good damn thing I only make it once a year, or I would be the size of Ireland.  So, Makenna and I coupled that with some butterscotch haystacks and chocolate peanut butter balls.  Now that I think about it, I should have ran that extra half mile.  Day-um.

I'll leave you with this little gem.  The Cole-ster.  In all of his glorious cheeseballness.  Can I say balls in the same sentence as my sons name?  I feel weird about it.   Hmmmm.....




PS  Yes, he needs a haircut.  And yes, my house is always a disaster.  ::eye roll::
 

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Scared....(not scarred!)

Ok, now that it's over with, I can share with all of you that I was SCARED.  Like in, "what the hell could happen?" kind of scared.  Like, "if I pass out on the side of the road, am I going to get stolen, violated, spit on?"  "Would someone try to steal my size 10, 3 year old, New Balances?"

I went on my first 3 mile run since the bad breathing incident.  It went FAB!  I felt good and strong.  I felt some coughing from my hideous cold, coming on, but just kept going and I ran through it.  Ahhh....I love the way a good run makes my body and mind feel.  I am going to do my netty pot tonight and go to the gym tomorrow and my plan is a 5 miler on Saturday.  I am jacked! 

On another matter..it is Christmas time!  So if you start following me, and comment on my status, I will do a drawing and send you a fabulous gift from my Rodan+Fields anti-age arsenal!!  You will LOVE it. 

*Shameless Plug*  I am making a 4 figure monthly salary and working on a 5 figure just from my business!!  Join me!  I will train you, teach you, spoon feed you.....I won't make you hear my poop stories anymore!  :-)  https://bbushman.myrandf.biz/   EMAIL ME NOW!  bbushman45@gmail.com

So too get into my drawing:  All my followers are already in.   New question:  What is your biggest fear during Christmas??   You won't get what you want?  You won't get the right things that your family wants?  You will take a huge dump and find out seconds later that the water is turned off???

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Snowing....

It is supposed to snow again tonight.  I cannot tell you how much I love living here.  We have great summers, beautiful falls, sparkly winters and green springs. 

So stay the f*ck out of here!  We like our Montana JUST.THE.WAY.IT.IS.  Except for a Chili's.  Bring it. Now.

(Montana was on some "best place to live" list and we only want your money while you travel through here, so go to Yellowstone National Park, Bozeman, and Cooke City)  Don't move to this awful place. 

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Shitty Morning. *Warning...graphic content, read with caution.

First off, let me tell you about how awesome my morning was and how I am looking forward to running water once more at work and how I will be listening to EVERY.SINGLE.ANNOUNCEMENT. from now on.  Thank GOD you do not work with me. 

So I was talking on my cell phone, eating some breakfast and basically avoiding actual work, occupied with some very important matters when some stupid announcement was made over the intercom.  Since I was gossiping engaged in a meaningful conversation, I chose to ignore it.  Afterwards, I decided to take a satisfactory dump as I proudly had my 2300% fiber bran muffin and 14 cups of coffee that morning.  I carefully check the hallway for stand byers, turn on the electric dryers to "muffle" any sounds and get the job done.  I then pull the handle to wrap things up and one of my WORST nightmares comes true.  Nothing happens.  Nada, Zip, Zero.  I frantically jiggle the handle up and down and curse the Toilet Gods to hell.   Nothing.  I run to the sink and turn on the faucet...only to have about two drops of water plink out.  Shitballs.  Literally.  WTF???  The main water line is freak'in closed. That has to be it!  I vaguely recall a stifled, yet choppy voice earlier this morning, "water.....use restrooms.....30 minutes....." and then silence.  The announcment...damn.   Then the realization hits me.   I now have to "deal" with my left overs.  There are 3 other women that work with me.  And if there is something wrong with the water system, well, chances are the mechanics will be in to "check" on things. 

I contemplate breaking the natural gas line and starting a small explosion.  Except that I am sure there are specialized forensic scientists out there that can handle these kind of "DNA" traces. 

FBI Dude: "Hmm....by the texture, color and formation of this shit, I would say it came from a female, 5'9", probably colors her hair but it's done tastefully, needs to stop drinking so much wine and those bran muffins are way to dry"

Me: "It, uh, wasn't me."  "Don't read my blog for a couple of hours, OK?"

So I do the right thing and lay about 14 layers of toilet paper over the disturbed area, spray an entire can of hair spray throughout the ladies room and adjoining hallway, and check the water faucet every 30 seconds while standing guard in front of the bathroom, ready to tackle anyone that even looks in that direction. 

And finally, after a good half an hour of fear and mortification, I finally hear the beautiful and life saving sound of running water.  It took 4 industrial flushes to "finish" the job, but she's done.  I am now off to the gym, but have to stop off and buy another can of hair spray for the bathroom, and replace the 3 rolls of TP that I used. 

Yes, this is what the majority of my morning consisted of.  I've been through job interviews, confessionals, and funerals that were more comfortable than this.  Lesson learned.  Amen.

Monday, November 28, 2011

Ahhhh Nuts....

Have you ever had a little cold that made you want to rip your own lungs out?  Really?  Well if you want a taste of kick.your.ass.cough. come on over to my house.  I think I am actually pulling oxygen out of pure mucous, because I know there isn't any space for real atmosphere to enter into my lung space.  I officially have a compromised respiratory system. Man do I sound (and look!) really sexy.  The good thing is that no one wants to bug me because they know that with one swift sneeze in their direction, I can wipe them out. 

However, I am still going to work out during lunch.... yes, I will try to take an antibacterial shower before I go, and will clean my equipment off thoroughly.  Trust me, anyone in that gym who even hints at having a booger is mad dogged by the rest of us until we are satisfied with the disinfecting process.  I may be a disease carrier, but I certainly don't want to expose anyone else to my own personal misery....so don't try and break into my car because I personally cough and wipe my nose all over the door handles to keep hoodlums and vagrants out.  You may not get the instant gratification of seeing someone with a knife wound or a karate chop to the forehead, but the satisfaction of knowing that they will be crabby and tired and a hacking mess within a 24-36 hour time period, well, that's worth the head phones and old McDonald's toys that they stole. 

So I'll take it easy, but will still try to get some mileage in, even if the oxygen to mucous ratio is now 1 : 5,620. 

Friday, November 25, 2011

Must Read People

From my fabulous sister in law Theresa... Thanks for the motivation and the reminder:

MUST WATCH:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SbXgQqbOoU

Turn up your volume, get a Kleenex.  Then join me and we WILL.DO.THIS.

New Hair Do and Icky Finger...

Coming up soon...my new hair do (think more like Kelly Clarkson and less like Mortisha Adams) and my fabulous nails, minus one funky pointer that I had to rip off a week ago.  It's disgusting and fascinating all at the same time.....

Stay tuned!

Now onto the Leftovers...

This was us after the run yesterday.  BJ Jessica and I.   It felt weird (in a good way) to drink a beer at 10 am in the morning, but it was for charity, so I did what I had to do.  I plan on putting this in the suggestion box at work for the morning break.  Anonomously, of course.  Pretty sure I would be manager of the year if I can get this implemented, so I'll keep you all posted.

Having some weird lung issues, which may or may not be related to the 428 colds I get each year (thanks to my children, the dancing petri dishes) so I'll be laying low this weekend.  Maybe I'll do some Yoga tomorrow morning and kick up the Dance moves on the Kinect.  Pics on all that definitly to follow.  I am not a Kinect spokes person of any sort, but I will tell you that the Kinect ROCKS.  Loads of fun for everyone, and the games just keep getting better. 

Had some super food with the In Laws last night, and it's my turn to cook tonight.  I LOVE to entertain, and cook and drink, so as long as I am laying low, I may as well stay busy.  Pete is the youngest of 12, so when you have the family over, it's not as though you can put throw a couple of extra potatoes in the oven.  So I'm having a ham, 20 pound turkey, salads, and sides.  Come on over and I'll let you try and diagnose my lung problems.  I'll save the phlegm from my kleenex for dissection. 

The good thing is that my body feels really strong from running/walking the 3.2 miles.  I can't wait to be able to go out and run again without having issues, but will live vicariously through those that can these next few days.  I've been creating a team of friends and family for our half marathon training, so if you want to join and connect with us...DO IT!  :-)  We'd love to have you!

And as always, remember to shop small on Saturday.  Small businesses anyway.  And if you want to gift yourself or your family to some great skin, click on the link at the right.  I thank you for it!


Follow me and join our half marathon team!  TEAM BIBS!!  Are you in?

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Snots, trots, and shots...

Yes folks, this is yours truly, ready to run my 5k!  Our plan to make capes last night was foiled by beer, lasgnae, and the Xbox Kinect, lack of creativity.  So when I was woke up at 3:30 am (more on that later....achoo!  ::sniff, sniff:: cough)   I had an epiphany...and my anti age mask and robe were at the heart of it.  I was even svelt enough to double side tape my pockets together so none of my shit would fall out.  Not that that would have even of been close to an issue as my speed wasn't recording breaking or even sweat breaking.  But it was FUN!

Not sure what my time was but I am guessing somewhere in  between 30 minutes and 1.5 hours.  Did I mention that they served free beer at the finish line?  So my super sis BJ, and my cousin Jessica did the run with me. More pictures to follow.

I also have a nightmare of a cold too.  Boo Hiss.  Bring on the spiced wine and whiskey I suppose.  Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Trotting in a costume~

I have never pretended to be a seasoned runner, or even a "good" runner at that.  I like to run because it makes me feel good, keeps me in shape and is better for me than crack or cocaine (and slightly less expensive, so I've heard).  Why do you run (and if you don't, who do you excercise?) If you don't excercise at all, just want you to know I.AM.SO.JEALOUS.

However, reading about the Turkey Run this Thursday, kind of took me off guard.  I think of "runners" as primed athletes, dressed in really expensive under armor gear, with the sound of "Eye of the Tiger" miraculously following them around as they stretch and do those high knee kick thingys.  In my perspective, very intimidating folks to be around and even trying to join their elite-ness would be terrifying and dangerous, and I would have to drink chicken blood and learn some super cool hand shake.  And then I would be constantly worried that I am not fast enough, not good enough, and what if they thought I was weird or something?  :-/

Hmmm...I guess they are more like me and less like Dolph Lundgren in Rocky IV than I thought (don't you remember how serious and mean he looked?  And that ice cold blond bitch by his side.  Man, I would have dumped her ass the first time she tried to "encourage" me while sitting in a chair eating donuts...)
Because if you read the fine print, you get to wear a costume!   Eat your heart out Dolph!  It's like Halloween for grown ups and it's legal~ Plus...they are giving out pints of BEER after the run.  I can do that~  Instead of sneaking around drinking a beer after my morning run, hiding it from my husband and the neighbors, I get to bask in sweet micro brew glory, while swooshing my way around in my Super Woman running cape~!   I shoulda been doing this whole running thing a long time ago!!

Who is going to be at the Good Earth Market on Thursday morning??  What kind of costume should I wear?  If I sign up twice, do you think I will get two beer tokens?
http://www.runturkeyrun.org/

Monday, November 21, 2011

Christmas Cheers and Leers

I've been asked by some friends and family if  I am ridiculously crazy it is really a good idea to start making some lofty weight loss and running goals during the Holidays.  Not sure what your Holiday traditions are like, but around here, they involve mass quantities of libations, coupled with carbohydrate overloads.  My mom actually makes a home made Baileys Irish Cream which conveniently folds both, large amounts of liquor and high caloric/carbohydrate into one drink.  IT.IS.TO.DIE.FOR.

I personally think this is the perfect time to map out a plan for upcoming running events.  Not only does this set the stage for specific training, but most events give out "early bird" discounts.  If you are a cheapo like I am, I would buy ketchup popsicle with the right discount.  And I am making a change in my life as far as healthy eating and exercising goes, not just a dieting ploy like the first 500 times I have tried to lose weight.  But THIS time I have all of you to keep me accountable.  If I haven't posted for more than a week, send the intervention team over and pull me out of the oreo box.

Some specifics: I truly need to lose 25 pounds to once again be part of the "Normal Weight" club according to the Institute of Brilliant Weight Versus Height Versus Body Mass Scientists (aka BMI).  But I would like to lose 30.  I am not going to disclose my weight in public as I was brought up properly to not only lie about my weight at all costs, but to also secretly criticize anyone who looks like they are gaining weight at a faster rate than I am.  I will not disclose the real color of my hair either. 

So I am going to train for the Denver Half Marathon next spring!  That is a huge milestone for me, and putting it in writing makes me that much more committed.  Thank you Blogging World!

I want to thank Ms. Lorraine for complimenting me on my skin!  Yes, I do love it and it really is because of the anti age products from my Rodan + Fields.  I also started using some of the Soothe after running in the cold.  That shit can really mess your face up!  (the cold weather, not my R + F!)  So if you do want the BEST skin of your life check out my website and get your ass on a regimen people! 

https://bbushman.myrandf.com/

PS  Who's doing the Turkey Trot Thursday morning?  I know there are "Trots" all over the US and my sister, a couple of sister in laws, and cousins are all joining me!

Saturday, November 19, 2011

8 Degrees of Separation

In that, my lungs almost separated from my body while running this morning, as it was a whole 8 degrees outside.   I am sure the neighbors thought I had been drinking already, and quite frankly, I really wish I had been.  Here I am starting:

I am pretty sure all professional / semi professional runners have very similar cold weather running attire.  Believe it or not, I was able to scrounge this cute little ensemble up all by myself!


After my tits froze to my sports bra I decided that maybe it was a tad too cold to be running a 3 miler (as if I am suuuch a pro...I think most "real" runners consider a 3 miler a "pussy" run, but whatever) I decided to finish at 2.5 miles and call it good.  When I got back, this is what was waiting for me:


And no, not all our kids where Oakleys, just the ones that we love the most.  (bring on the psychiatric help, once more)  He's way cuter snuggled on my lap, offering me a glass of wine, in a heated, warm house. 

Anyhow, I am GLAD I just did it.  It's so much easier to blow off a run, a phone call, or cleaning the toilets for the 6th week in a row, and once you set your mind to just do it, well shit actually happens (again, why I need to tackle the porcelain soon).

As one of my best friends and mentors would ask, "Are You All In??"  ~ Kris Vandersloot  

Well Kris, today I was all in.  Now I am off to make some phone calls.  (Toilets can wait for tomorrow, right?)

Next Up:  The skinny on my actual weight loss and self improvement goals.  I call this: The Truth With A Twist!

What are your goals?  Are you ALL IN?  If you live near the equator, can I come live with you even though I don't clean and clearly accept dirty toilets?

Disappointment

Well folks, I am actually disappointed in the weather.  You heard me right.  We were supposed to get like 248 inches of snow or something like that, which screams Chili, movies, and of course CAT/GRIZ game.  In light of trying to ATTRACT people to my blog and not piss people off, I will try to stay neutral. (FTG!)

So when I woke up this morning and see a whopping 1/2 of snow, I felt majorly let down.  Mostly because I know I feel very obligated to go running.  Damn.  So I will take a gander of my favorite blogger IN.THE.WHOLE.WORLD. to get some inspiration and I'm going to get my ass out the door and go.  Check it out:  Shut Up + Run.  Pictures to follow for all of you!


Ok, back to this.  I think the rivalry of the Cat/Griz dates back to 1832 when some bad ass Bobcat in the middle of the Rocky Mountain Divide kicked the shit out of this Grizzly bear and then it had to leave, making it's way to Lolo National Forest and start teaching liberal studies and how to poop in the woods and eat bark or something.  (pretty sure I just lost Rene....Damn it!)

Anyhoo, enough diddle daddle.  It's already 8 degrees, and my chariot of sweats, mittens, stocking hat and shoes await. 

Friday, November 18, 2011

Eeeeek! No followers?

Just wanted to add a picture of my sister, Billi Jo...She runs half marathons.  For fun.  Really?  I was kind of bitching about running on the treadmill to some co-workers, and one of them really had the nerve to say, "Keep it up Bob!  If you keep running, you will eventually get addicted to it!"  Seriously?  Of all of my addictions (wine, Bud Light, Won Tons from Jakes (Holy Hell Yeah!) crack....) I need to add running?  And do I want to be addicted to running?  Will my knees and ::gulp:: ass cheeks, suffer from all of this running crap? 

Are you addicted to running?  Are you OK with that?  Are you more attracted to my boobs, or to BJ?  (honest answers only....Oh wait....no one is even reading this!  LOL!) 

Bullys

Ok, I finally got bullied into creating a blog.  Mostly because Facebook wouldn’t let me vent, exaggerate, and cuss would only let me use like 400 characters, or something like that.  So I decided that if I were going to pull up my skirt and expose the world to the interworkings of life, why not do it publicly and drag the rest of the family with me.  I may as well.  I know that there are some damn good psychiatrists out there that need some business.


The other REAL reason I need to do this.  I also need some accountability in the ‘ol weight loss department.  Apparently, my diet the last 15 years of beer and mashed potatoes is starting to hinder my ability to not only get my jeans zipped, but to actually get them ON.  I ripped off a belt loop the other day.  $100 jeans just aren’t what they were a few years ago. 

But truly I am FAT.  Not the kind of fat that your pretend BFF (who you secretly hate because she is effortlessly thin and it has to be bulimia so you secretly rifle through all of her shit when you are at her house to try and find the bucket of shame or whatever they call it on those Lifetime movies) but like health affecting fat.  I know I have some muscle because I can still suck my stomach wayyyy in when trying to button my pants up.  However, because of the current fit, I have had to re-think the frontal coverage that my underwear are supposed to supply because regardless of how far you can suck your stomach in, you CANNOT suck in your pubic hairs.  And ladies, you zip one of those babies up in your jeans, it’s gonna pinch.  HARD.  Like pee your pants and hope to pass out soon.  


How much weight do you need lose?  How much beer do you drink after you get off the treadmill and does it matter if it is 8:30 in the morning??